The top 50 movie one liners…

According to Channel Nine here they are:
http://channelnine.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=265935

EDIT 27/8/08: This list also appears to have been recycled by Bert Newton on the TV show 50 to 1 on Channel Nine Australia (26/8).

image

But I have a gripe… where was “Yippie Kayay MotherF*@#er” – surely that Bruce Willis line beats many of these? Oh well maybe not PG enough for Ch9. Any other missing ones post them below. We’ll make a new list and send them to Bert;)

  • 50. APOLLO 13
    “Houston, we have a problem.”
  • 49. WALL STREET
    “Greed, for want of another word, is good.”
  • 48. COOL HAND LUKE
    “What we’ve got here is failure to communicate.”
  • 47. AUSTIN POWERS
    “Yeah baby!”
  • 46. SCARFACE
    “Say hello to my little friend.”
  • 45. BLUES BROTHERS
    “We’re on a mission from God.”
  • 44. JAWS
    “You’re gonna need a bigger boat.”
  • 43. GHOSTBUSTERS
    “Who you gonna call?”
  • 42. TRUMAN SHOW
    “Good morning, and in case I dont see ya, Good afternoon, good evening and good night.”
  • 41. DIRTY DANCING
    “Nobody puts Baby in the corner.”
  • 40. BATMAN
    “Have you ever danced with devil in the pale moonlight?”
  • 39. GLADIATOR
    “At my signal, unleash hell.”
  • 38. ON THE WATERFRONT
    “You don’t understand, I could’ve been somebody, I could have been a contender.”
  • 37. TITANIC
    “I’m the king of the world.”
  • 36. DEAD POETS SOCIETY
    “Carpe Diem, seize the day, boys.”
  • 35. THE MASK
    “Smokin’!”
  • 34. PULP FICTION
    “Bring out the gimp.”
  • 33. OLIVER
    “Please sir, I want some more…”
  • 32. ROCKY
    “Yo Adrian.”
  • 31. PSYCHO
    Stabbing scene
  • 30. SILENCE OF THE LAMBS
    “I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice chianti.”
  • 29. GOOD MORNING VIETNAM
    “Good morning Vietnam!”
  • 28. MAE WEST
    “Is that a gun in your pocket, or are you just pleased to see me?”
  • 27. POLTERGIEST
    “They’re here.”
  • 26. TOP GUN
    “I feel the need… the need for speed.”
  • 25. MURIELS WEDDING
    “You’re terrible Muriel.”
  • 24. THE ELEPHANT MAN
    “I am not an animal. I am a human being.”
  • 23. FIGHT CLUB
    “First rule of fight club is – never talk about fight club.”
  • 22. TERMINATOR
    “I’ll be back.”
  • 21. KARATE KID
    “Wax on, Wax off.”
  • 20. THE CASTLE
    “Tell him he’s dreaming.”
  • 19. ET
    “ET phone home.”
  • 18. CROCODILE DUNDEE
    “That’s not a knife, that’s a knife.”
  • 17. WIZARD OF OZ
    “Toto, I’ve got a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.”
  • 16. SIXTH SENSE
    “I see dead people.”
  • 15. FORREST GUMP
    “Life is like a box of chocolates, you never what you’re gonna get.”
  • 14. TAXI DRIVER
    “You talkin to me?”
  • 13. STAR WARS
    “May the force be with you.”
  • 12. BRAVEHEART
    “They can take our lives, but they can never take our freedom.”
  • 11. THE SHINING
    “Here’s Johnny.”
  • 10. DR NO
    “Bond. James Bond.”
  • 9. DIRTY HARRY
    “Do you feel lucky punk? Well, do you?”
  • 8. SUDDEN IMPACT
    “Go ahead, make my day.”
  • 7. JERRY MAGUIRE
    “Show me the money!”
  • 6. CASABLANCA
    “Play it again Sam.”
  • 5. WHEN HARRY MET SALLY
    “I’ll have what she’s having.”
  • 4. A FEW GOOD MEN
    “You can’t handle the truth.”
  • 3. THE GODFATHER
    “I’m going to make him an offer he can’t refuse.”
  • 2. LT.APOCALYPSE NOW
    “I love the smell of napalm in the morning.”
  • 1. GONE WITH THE WIND
    “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.”

61 Responses to The top 50 movie one liners…

  1. Humphrey Bogart never said “Play it again, Sam” in Casablanca. Maybe you’re refering to Woody Allen.

  2. Mr CP says:

    correct, actually he told Sam to never play that song again….but we get the picture. thanks.

  3. PhysX says:

    Don’t know why Psycho is on the list. I don’t remember someone saying “Stabbing scene” … if that counts as “one liner”, I’d also add Matrix – Evading bullets in slow motion xD
    no, they really should have put Bruce’s words of wisdom there instead, clearly missing here 😉

  4. Kristy says:

    The line in Fight Club is “Do not talk about Fight Club” Not never

  5. David says:

    This is a horrible horrible list. The Mask?!!!

    and fyi…”stabbing scene”-Psycho is not a fraking quote! It is not even a reference to a single scene. There is a lot of stabbing in that movie.

    you suck

    List of misquotations:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_misquotations

  6. Joy says:

    Personally, I like the whole “When you find someone you want to spend the rest of your life with, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible” for When Harry Met Sally…but that’s just me…:-)

  7. “Badges? We don’t need no stinking badges!” incorrect qoute from some movie with Humpty Bogart

  8. J.R. says:

    In 1966, Andy Dufresne escaped from Shawshank prison

  9. Bryan says:

    This is so full of errors… have you actually watched any of these movies?

  10. Magnus says:

    The Big Lebowski: FUCK!

  11. Andy says:

    Actually the quote from Casablanca was “You played it for her, you can play it for me, now play it.”

  12. James says:

    What about “Now that is one big pile of shit” from Jurassic Park?

  13. Brendon says:

    THIS IS SPARTA!

  14. Dawn says:

    “Play it, Sam, for old times’ sake, play ‘As Time Goes By’.”

  15. Thull says:

    Yea, a lot of mistakes but fun list regardless. I think you probably missed about 35 to 40 of the most popular movie one-liners of all time but hey no ones perfect ^^

    1. “There’s no crying in baseball!”
    2. “Luke, I’m your father”
    3. any groucho marx one liner like (Military intelligence is a contradiction in terms)
    4. “There’s no fighting in here! This is the war room!”
    5. “No way hoser!”
    so on and so on…

  16. stephanv says:

    The posting above refering to “Badges? We don’t need no stinking badges.” is from The Treasure of Sierra Madre.
    My two submissions would be the scene from Monty Python’s Life of Brian. “What have the Romans ever done for us?”
    from Apocalypse Now “Archangel, this is PBR STREET GANG.”
    The list seems to be written by someone who’s memory does not go beyond the 1960s

  17. Haley says:

    You left this one out.
    300
    “THIS IS SPARTA!”

  18. madame says:

    “Johnny five is alive”
    “Coffee’s for closers!”

  19. Hannah says:

    The line “Play it again, Sam” is NOT in Casablanca, despite a the Woody Allen play to that effect. This is a common misconception, and doesn’t belong on this list.

  20. lightningmouse says:

    There are a few different ones from Pulp Fiction I would choose…

  21. joe strummer Jr says:

    Wack ass list, I can create one better with my butthole.

  22. GYM 3 says:

    Taken

    I will find you, and I will kill you

  23. SladeDoobiedog says:

    I thought it would’ve been funnier if for Star Wars it was “I’ve got a bad feeling about this…”, but that’s just me, heheh.

    Also, Monty Python, c’mon! XD “It’s just a flesh wound.”

  24. hugotheglorious says:

    Yeah to GYM 3 and SladeDoobiedog.

    Also, Kill Bill Volume 1:
    O-Ren: You didn’t think it would be that easy, did you?
    The Bride: You know, for a second there, yeah, I kinda did.

  25. g says:

    Dirty Harry quote is one of the most misquoted ever. He never says “Do you feel lucky.” He says something similar, but entirely different. If you care, you can look it up and be amazed.

  26. sistaelle says:

    You could fill the list with quotations from the movie “Arthur” and have better lines than here.
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0082031/quotes

  27. AC says:

    Nothing From The Princess Bride? Practically that whole movie is quotable. To wit:
    “Never go up against a Sicilian when death is on the line.”
    “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”
    “As you wish.”
    “Mawwiage. Mawwiage is what brings us togevva today.”
    Plus countless others.

  28. locspoc says:

    “why so serious?”

  29. Rachel says:

    My goodness guys. Think you can say any more complaints? If you hate the list so much, go make one of your freaking own.

    Out of the only quotes I did know (which admittedly is not a lot) they seemed pretty accurate. Or, at the very least, they have been quoted like that before.

    I personally really enjoyed the list, although perhaps the following quote might have been in order on a couple.

    Good job, keep it up!

  30. Phil says:

    A Night at the Roxbury

    -You’re brothers?
    -No…. YYYEEESSSSS ! Works everytime!

    -EMILIOOOO!!

  31. Cheryl says:

    Thye left out one of the best Known ones, Terminator-
    “I’ll be back.”

  32. The stabbing scene in Psycho counts as a one-liner? Impossible.

  33. Jacob C. says:

    I don’t think anyone whose commented read the intro to the post. This was originally posted on an Australian news site. The blog says to add missing quotes, they’ll make a better list, and send it back to the new site.

    I don’t know about one liners, but my favorite quotes are:

    -The into monologue to ‘Hitch’ by Will Smith. “You can sweep any woman off her feet, all you need is the right broom.”
    -The speech of the King of Rohan in ‘Return of the King.’ “There may be a day when the hearts of men fail. But today is not that day!” (Or something to that effect)

  34. rorke says:

    “Bring out your dead.”

  35. Pangur Ban says:

    As per usual, the list all but ignored memorable quotes by women. Just for the record, here are some that didn’t make it:

    ‘As God is my witness. I’ll never go hungry again.’ (Vivien Leigh, Gone With the Wing)
    ‘I’m still big. It’s the pictures that got small.’ (Gloria Swanson, Sunset Boulevard)
    ‘You know how to whistle, don’t ya, Steve? You put your lips together and blow.’ (Lauren Bacall, To Have and Have Not)
    ‘Fasten your seatbelts. It’s going to be a bumpy night.’ (Bette Davis, All About Eve)
    ‘Klaatu barada nikto’ (Patricia Neal, The Day the Earth STood STill)
    ‘Get away from her, you bitch!’ (Sigourney Weaver, Aliens)
    ‘I’m 26, I’m single and I teach. That has to be the bottom of the barrel.’ (Katherine Ross, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid)
    ‘Love means never having to say you’re sorry.’ (Ali McGraw, Love STory)
    ‘I want to be alone.’ (Greta Garbo, Grand Hotel)
    ‘Let’s not ask for the moon. We have the stars.’ (Bette Davis, Now Voyager)

    • Johnny come lately says:

      lesbian!

      And heres the casablanca quote.
      Ilsa: Play it once, Sam. For old times’ sake.
      Sam: [lying] I don’t know what you mean, Miss Ilsa.
      Ilsa: Play it, Sam. Play “As Time Goes By.”

  36. Jon says:

    What? No “squeal like a pig!” from Deliverance??!!

  37. Kat says:

    A better line from the Mask would have been ‘somebody stop me”.
    Surprised no Monty Python inclusions
    eg. from Life of Brian “We’re all individuals” and the reply “I’m not.”
    What about from Risky Business “Sometimes you just gotta say ‘What the fuck’. and
    Caddyshack “Somebody step on a duck?”

  38. Lisa says:

    One of my favourite line’s is from the Life of Brian:

    “He’s not the Messiah. He’s a very naughty boy!”

    Also from Midnight Cowboy:

    “I’m walking here! I’m walking here!”

  39. Theresa Stark says:

    My favorite one-liner has always been from Some like it hot. At the end of the movie Jack Lemmon is trying to tell Joe E. Brown why he can’t marry him when he finally takes off his wig and says “I’m a man” to which Joe replies “Nobody’s perfect.” Hilarious.

  40. Kurra says:

    Coincidentally, I learned today that

    # 14. TAXI DRIVER – “You talkin to me?”

    and

    # 11. THE SHINING – “Here’s Johnny.”

    were improved lines

  41. Jeff Garner says:

    It becomes clearly obvious that there is a lot to know about this. I believe you have made a lot of excellent points in your article.

  42. wow says:

    Thumbs down. No attention to detail and some of these lines have no business on such a list. Garbage like this kills my enjoyment of the internet and shatters my faith in humanity. Don’t quit your day job.

  43. Toni says:

    What about that other line from “Apocalypse Now” spoken by the Lt. Col. Robert Duval plays “Charley don’t surf”.

  44. klintz04 says:

    “This shit just got serious” – Bad Boys

  45. Sol says:

    Aw, come on. “Yippe kiyai motherf****r!” deserves a place up there along with Admiral Ackbars, “It’s a trap!”

  46. Patrick Fabri says:

    I hope that someone that does the countdowns reads this because I have a few that I would like to be considered, if this countdown is ever done again. Some people have already suggested some of them.
    1. He is not the messiah,he’s a very naughty boy.
    2. Its good to be the king.
    3.This one time, at band camp.
    4. Im coming to get you (from the 2nd Rambo movie)
    5.Ah, I see that you have a machine that goes Bing!
    6. Say hello to my little friend
    7. Badges? We dont need no stinking badges
    8. Get away from her you bitch.
    for 7 out of 8 I didnt include the movie title as I thought that they where obvious.
    I would of liked to of seen some Samuel L jackson in there somewhere, but all his best one liners contain a swear words.

  47. bodybuilding food…

    […]The top 50 movie one liners… « Amnesia Blog[…]…

  48. surfboards says:

    surfboards…

    […]The top 50 movie one liners… « Amnesia Blog[…]…

  49. club casablanca…

    […]The top 50 movie one liners… « Amnesia Blog[…]…

  50. good movies says:

    good movies…

    […]The top 50 movie one liners… « Amnesia Blog[…]…

  51. […] with the MacGuffin assignment through ds106 was a lot of fun.  Short and simple.  I used a list of 50 top movie one-liners to help get my memory going.  This could easily be applied to a K-12 classroom as well.  Students […]

  52. Morecambe skips…

    […]Want a skip now? visit our site now![…]…

  53. love quotes status…

    […]The top 50 movie one liners… « Amnesia Blog[…]…

  54. […] top 5 by https://amnesiablog.wordpress.com/2007/05/11/the-top-50-movie-one-liners/ […]

  55. Foto Foto Lucu…

    […]The top 50 movie one liners… « Amnesia Blog[…]…

Leave a comment