Classic Levi’s TV Ads Collection. 1985-1997

Remember these classic Levi’s Ads? Oh yes, you will! This is the collection of the most memorable ones, many of which are imprinted on the brains of a generation, running between the mid 80’s to late 90’s. Brilliant choice of music that inspired countless imitations over the years. Here they are… the originals 🙂

Note: Clip ‘Prison’ has a very famous main character…

Above: The Launderette (Nick Kaman) 1985
Music – Heard it through the Grapevine – Marvin Gaye

Above: The Bathtub. 1986
Music : Wonderful World – Sam Cooke

Above: The Refrigerator 1988
Music: Mannish Boy – Waters, Muddy

The Pickup. 1989
Music : Be My Baby-The Ronettes

The Bike (1990) –
Music – The Joker/Steve Miller Band

Pool (1991)
Music The Clash – Should I stay or should I go.

Prison (feat a very famous movies star) 1991
Music: Twentieth Century Boy – T-Rex

The Swimmer (1992)
Music: Mad About The Boy – Washington, Dinah

The Fall / Oilrig (1994)
Music: Music by Peter Lawler – Fictional Self


The Procession (1993)
Music: Scream Jay Hawkins – Heart Attack and Vine

The Creek 1994
Music: Peter Lawler | Stiltskin – Inside

Spaceman 1995
Music: Babylon Zoo

The Mermaids (1997)
Music: Smoke City- Underwater Love

Is it just me or was Mermaids the last of the great Levi’s ads???

Note/Help!:
There are several notable missing ads from this collection/era which can be identified by the soundtracks:
Erma Franklin – Piece of my heart
Ben E King – Stand by Me

(If you find the above please post in comments thx!)

Edit: Thanks to @oonai5000 for posting some of these Levis commercials.

28 Responses to Classic Levi’s TV Ads Collection. 1985-1997

  1. stephanlange says:

    nicely put together – I can’t believe I remember all of them

  2. oonai5000 says:

    Some of those you posted are mine, I also have the one featuring Screamin’ Jay Hawkins. Here’s the link: http://nl.youtube.com/watch?v=kK3UdtOkciU. Look on my channel for more Levi’s commercials.

  3. oonai5000 says:

    I’ve also uploaded the one with Ben E. King’s “Stand by me”. Here’s the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YeEDgQ6deEk. I also found the ad featuring Eddie Cochran. I’m trying to find as many Levi’s classics as possible!

  4. heather says:

    I’m DYING to find the 1992 European Levi’s ad featuring “Piece of My Heart”, does anyone know where to find it?

  5. zombili says:

    the one with Shaggy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPhsyRbHqMU

    It’s Lawlor not lawler

  6. Janice says:

    I used to have a copy of the Levis classic ad known as the pickup where a sexy guy in a pick up truck stops to help a couple whose car has broken down and ends up picking up the girl but leaving the guy. The music was “I love him, I love him”. But on this site the only version I can find is one with the music ‘be my baby’. Does anyone have the other version and if so would you be willing to post it?

  7. Timmy says:

    “Remember these classic Levi’s Ads? Oh yes, you will!”

    um…. not really 😛

  8. kyt says:

    hi, you have to help me find the levi’s ad where young matt leblanc appeared. please. i really need it…:)

  9. Damian says:

    Great collection there. I wonder if you’ve also got a compilation of ’70s Levi’s ads. I’m thinking “Route 66”, “You’re The Levi’s Kind”, and “Bad To The Bone” (not the George Thorogood song, but a different one with same title). Ring any bells (and videos)?

  10. Kiwi Will says:

    Dude I’ve been looking for that version of “Route 66” for years, it was done by a band called “Clover” & I can’t find it anywhere.

    Does anyone know where i can find it ?

    • Kiwi Rob says:

      I’ve been looking for that commercial fior years as well, cannot find it! Hot chicks climbing into that W900 Kenworth…

      Here’s another cool Levis advert from back about then:

    • Martin Scott says:

      It’s on ‘The Best of Clover – An American Band in London’ – a compilation on vinyl and cassette which I put together in 1986 – on the Mercury label in the UK, catalogue no. MERB98 (LP) and MERBC98 (cassette). Now out of print, I’m afraid – and Route 66 (as far as I know) isn’t on any other album. Send me your e-mail address and I’ll upload it and e-mail it – but NB I’m not a technological wizard, so give me a little time.
      Cheers,
      Martin Scott

    • billydom says:

      Well if you ever find it please can you let me know – I was the darker haired girl in it. I can’t even get it from the ad agency!

  11. princecharles10 says:

    Hi Martin,

    I’ve been looking for that version of route 66 by Clover for ages now.

  12. toby says:

    Does anyone know where to find the levis commercial from the early 90’s with the lou reed song walk on the wild side? It’s set in a department store.

  13. Scott Randolph says:

    Im looking for a 501 commercial that had a group of men Roller Skaters i actually was the principle but i lost my copy there was also gospel music in if anyone finds it PLEASE Email me At Alchemyday@gmail.com

  14. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  15. tao says:

    The “blind man” ad from 1995 is a classic.

  16. Brian says:

    can anyne tell me what ad agency creative department chose these classics for Levi’s? I have in hand something super-special which will be available this month.

  17. […] Osteoporosis DrugsAD Classics: Expo ’58 + Philips Pavilion / Le Corbusier and Iannis XenakisClassic Levi’s TV Ads Collection. 1985-1997 body{background-image:none;} body { background-color: #829def; } WPFP = jQuery.noConflict(); […]

  18. 1080p wallpaper…

    […]Classic Levi’s TV Ads Collection. 1985-1997 « Amnesia Blog[…]…

  19. […] Classic Levi’s TV Ads Collection (1985-1997) […]

Leave a comment